Kitchen Hacks and Camping

First off… the camping didn’t really happen. We made it to Horse Thief Springs, played for about 3 hours, then my poor two year old started throwing up and running a fever. For the few hours we were there, the kids had fun.

Image

 

 

Image

ImageWe came home and made s’mores on the grill in the backyard instead.

Secondly, Kitchen Hacks! I’m always looking for shortcuts in the kitchen, especially during the hot summers. My kitchen is usually the warmest room in the house. As much as I enjoy cooking, it’s not fun in a 95-degree kitchen.

Today’s shortcut: biscuits!

Start with your favorite biscuit recipe. Mine is from Comfortably Domestic.

I throw everything but the liquid in the food processor and mix it up, then slowly add the liquid (milk in this case). Instant biscuit dough!

Instead of rolling and cutting, I pat my dough into a nice big square. Then I slice it up with a pizza cutter. I’m done cutting in 10 seconds instead of five minutes or more.

Image

And they turn out just as lovely.

Image

Hint: they’re even prettier when they’re spread with homemade strawberry jam!

Here’s an image for Pinterest, if you feel so inclined.

photo

2 thoughts on “Kitchen Hacks and Camping

Leave a Reply

