Cloth Diapering, Part 1

This is Part 1 in my Cloth Diapering series.

I have been aware of cloth diapers since before my first baby was born. I was even given two wool diaper covers as a baby shower gift. I am ashamed to say that I wanted nothing to do with the wool covers at the time. They were eventually packed away and lost. These days, I sure wish I still had those covers!

After losing the wool covers, I didn’t even think about cloth diapers for over two years. We were living in student apartments at a college in southern Florida. We were isolated from family and didn’t have a lot of wiggle room in the budget. Our oldest two kids were in diapers at this point. #3 and #4 weren’t around yet.

I drove down to our closest Wal-Mart and bought 2 packages of Gerber prefold diapers:

photo from justmommies.com

I also grabbed a few packages of plastic pants.

photo from ebay.com

Needless to say, I wasn’t off to a great start. The diapers weren’t very absorbent and the plastic pants didn’t contain moisture. I also didn’t have access to a clothesline to dry diapers on. I dried everything in an electric dryer and before long, I had some awful smells building up. I tried bleach, extra rinses, and soaking. Nothing worked. Eventually I gave up and went back to the expensive disposables.

I was frustrated and completely turned off to the idea of cloth diapering. I had no intention of ever trying again. I figured disposables, despite the price and the trash produced, were worth it since they didn’t leak or stink.

Come back tomorrow for Part 2 in the Cloth Diapering series!

2 thoughts on “Cloth Diapering, Part 1

Leave a Reply

