Kitchen hacks: pizza sauce and beautiful muffins

I’m not putting pizza sauce on my beautiful muffins. Just thought I’d make that clear. ūüėČ

Homemade pizza is a staple around here. Thin crust, thick crust, round, square, and covered in different kinds of toppings. Making pizza is definitely a frugal activity – it costs WAY less, especially with bulk ingredients purchased at places like Costco! I’m pretty sure my homemade pizzas even cost less than cheap frozen pizzas.

Making pizza can be frustratingly time-consuming, though. The rising of the dough doesn’t really bother me, because that’s inactive time and I can do something else. Assembling the pizza, though, can definitely be sped up! The best way to do this is to have ingredients ready in manageable quantities.

The answer is pizza sauce cubes!

Start with your favorite sauce. I like to use cheap spaghetti sauce.

If you’re making a pizza right now, use what you need from the can. Then take the rest of the sauce and grab an empty ice-cube tray.

Carefully spoon your sauce into the cells. Overflowing cells are harder to empty once they’re frozen, so don’t overfill them!

Freeze, then dump the cubes into a freezer zip bag. Now, any time you need a small amount of sauce, you’re good to go! I use about 4 cubes per pizza, but we go pretty light on the sauce.¬† Whenever you need sauce, stick a few into a microwavable¬† cup or bowl, cover, and heat for about 3 minutes, stirring once¬† every minute to break up ice clumps.

Here’s a pin for Pinterest, if you feel so inclined.

Now, on to beautiful muffins!

Most of the time, muffin recipes say to fill the cups only 2/3 full. This results in a rather wimpy looking muffin. Recently, I’ve started filling my muffin cups all the way to the brim!

I have also started using more baking powder to get a higher rise and more fluffiness. I use about a heaping teaspoon per cup of flour in the recipe.

The end result?

Gloriously tall muffins. Adding a pinch of sparkling sugar on top before baking makes them even more impressive, but I didn’t do that this time.

Want a great muffin recipe? Try Sparkling Jumbo Blueberry Muffins over at Sally’s Baking Addiction! They are wonderful.

And last, but not least… I’m trying to think of something more wonderful than having a sleeping baby on my lap. And I am failing.

Leave a Reply

